Bulgarian Institute of Solid State Physics
Bulgarian Academy of Sciences


Created: 26.7.2010
Updated: 28.10.2016



European Physical Society       
Historic Sites

European Physical Society past presidents:
1968 – 1970 G. Bernardini, Italy
1970 – 1972 E. Rudberg, Sweden
1972 – 1976 H.B.G. Casimir, The Netherlands
1976 – 1978 I. Ursu, Romania
1978 – 1980 A. Zichichi, Italy
1980 – 1982 A.R. Mackintosh, Denmark
1982 – 1984 J. Friedel, France
1984 – 1986 G.H. Stafford, United Kingdon
1986 – 1988 W. Buckel, Germany
1888 – 1991 R.A. Ricci, Italy
1991 – 1993 M. Jacob, Switzerland
1993 – 1995 N. Kroo, Hungary
1995 – 1997 H. Schopper, Switzerland
1997 – 1999 Denis Weaire
1999 – 2001 Sir Arnold Wolfendale, Durham University, UK
2001 – 2003 Martial Ducloy, France
2003 – 2005 Martin C.E. Huber, Switzerland
2005 – 2007 O. Poulsen, Denmark
2007 – 2009 Friedrich Wagner, Germany
2009 – 2011 Maciej Kolwas, Poland
2011 – 2013 Luisa Cifarelli, Itally
2013 – John Dudley, France

European Centre for the History of Physics, Pollau Castle, Austria

EPS History of Physics Group

Dr. Peter M. Schuster, Chair of the History of Physics Group, EPS


Denis L. Weaire Professor (emeritus), Dublin, Ireland    
Peter E. Holmberg, Professor (emeritus), University of Helsinki, Finland
George Vlahakis, Professor, Greece
Helge Kragh, Professor of History of Science and Technology, Aarhus University, Denmark
Karl Grandin, Professor, Center for History of Science, Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
Rajka Jurdana-Sepic, Associate Professor, University of Rijeca, Croatia
Sofia Talas, Dr., Museum of the History of Physics, University of Padua, Italy
Dieter Hoffmann, Max Plank Institute for the History of Science, Berlin
Maciej Kluza Dr., Museum, University of Jagelon, Poland
Jose Manuel Sanchez Ron, Professor, Madrid, Spain
Marta C. Lourenco, Dr., University of Lisboa, Portugal

  History of Physics Group

    Professor Edward Arthur Davis Chair of the IoP History of Physics Group since 2012.

Previous Chairs of the IoP History of Physics Group

1984 – 1988 Professor Jack Meadows
1989 – 1995 Sir Brian Pippard
1996 – 2000 Dr John Roche
2001 – 2003 Professor Ian Butterworth
2004 – 2007 Professor Denis Weaire
2008 – 2012 Dr Peter Ford

  Victor Francis Hess Society            

AIP Centre for History of Physics

History and Foundations of Quantum Physics

UNIVERSEUM the European Academic Heritage Network


Physics Museum & Laboratory, United Kingdom

Physics and Math Science Museum, South Kensington, London, UK

Ampere and History of Electricity, France

The Physics section at the Deutsches Museum, Munich

Museo Galileo, Florence, Italy

Museum of the History of Physics, Padua, Italy

Physics Laboratory and Museum of Scientific Instruments, Urbino, Italy

Teylers Museum, Harlem, Netherlands

Palatul Cultury Tur Muzee, Romania

"Stefan Procopiu" Science and Technique Museum Iassy, Romania

“Prof. Ing. Dimitrie Leonida”, Bucharest, Romania

Institute for the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology, Toronto, Canada

Rutherford Museum, Montreal, Canada

Physics Historical Museum, Grinnell College, USA

Physics Museum, (Catalogue) University of Queensland, Australia

The School of Physics Museum, The University of Melbourne, Australia

Museum of Unworkable Devices Physics Gallery


Science Museum and Physics Museum of the Coimbra University, Portugal

Manchester Museum University of Manchester, UK

Museum, Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge, UK

Museum of the History of Science, Oxford University, UK


Archive of the Austrian Academy of Sciences

Exhibition of Physics, Academy of Sciences, Lisbon, Portugal

Albert Einstein Archives

History of Physics Archives, Universita degli Studi, Dipartimento di Fisica, Pavia, Italy

Archive of the Kamerlingh Onnes Laboratory, Leiden University, Faculty of Science, Leiden Institute of Physics, Netherlands


  UNESCO United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

International Academy of the History of Science, France

History of Science and Technology Research Center, CNRS, Paris

  Portrait Collection, London, UK

British Society for the History of Sciences (BSHS)

History and Philosophy of Science, University of Cambridge, UK

Centre for History and Philosophy of Science, Technology and Medicine, University of Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

University of Aberdeen Natural Philosophy Collection

  Nobel Prize, Museum, Center for History of Science, The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

  National Hellenic Research Foundation Athens, Greece

Hellenic Archives of Scientific Instruments, Athens, Greece

National Museum of Natural History, Lisbon University, Portugal

Conservation Physics

Conferences and Meetings on History and Phylosophy of Physics


EPS biografies


English grammar  English Teaching  New English File


SHPMP Studies in History and Philosophy of Modern Physics

HPM History and Pedagogy of Mathematics Newsletters

ESHS European Society for the History of Sciences Newsletters and Centaurus

HPDST History of Science in Southeastern Europe Newsletter

IHPST International History, Philosophy and Science Teaching Group Newsletter

The European Physical Journal
Historical Perspectives on Contemporary Physics

BJP Bulgarian Journal Of Physics

ChMS Chaotic Modeling and Simulation

CJLT Canadian Journal of Learning and Technology

ONPPJ The Open Nuclear and Particle Physics Journal

IJSTR International Journal of Scientific and Technology Research

JPSA Journal of Physical Science and Application